NZGCSA Parkland Excellence Award

Sponsored by Parkland Products


The NZGCSA and Parkland Products seek to recognise a Superintendent for achieving Excellence in Golf Course Management.


  • $6000 cash prize to the winning Golf Course Superintendent.

  • $3000 cash prize to the runner up Golf Course Superintendent (will only be awarded if 5or more applications for the Award are received).

The recipient of the NZGCSA Parkland Excellence Award is required to use the prize money for educational purposes in the manner outlined by them in their application. 

Eligibility and Requirements:

  • Open to all Superintendent (Class A) members of the NZGCSA.

  • Prize money will be required to be used for educational purposes in the manner outlined by the applicant in their application.

  • The winner(s) will be required to be present at the NZ Sport Turf Conference or Fine Turf Seminar to accept the Award in person.

  • The winner(s) will be required to be involved in the publicity around receiving the award including, but not limited to, writing an   article to be published in the NZ Turf Management Journal.

  • The winner(s) will be expected to conduct themselves in a manner that enhances the award, and the reputation of the NZGCSA and Parkland Products.

The Process:

  • Complete the application form. 

    Click here to download the 2017 Application Form and Guide 

  • Post completed application form to: NZGCSA, 7a Lex Avenue, Green Bay, Auckland, 0604 or email to:  Closing date is Friday 16 February 2018.

  • Once the closing date has passed all applications will be forwarded onto the Judges who will create a short list of those who make it  through to the second round.

  • Applicants who make the second round of the competition will be asked to provide a dossier to demonstrate how they have achieved Excellence in Golf Course Management.

  • Dossiers will be forwarded to the Judges and the Judges will make Golf Course visits to undertake their independent judging.

Examples of how the Education Grant could be used:

  • Regional, National or International Conferences.

  • National Certificate in Sports Turf Level 5 or Business Management.

  • National Diplomas.

  • Internship locally or abroad.

  • Study Tours.

  • Working experiences eg New Zealand Open,  Australia Open.

 NZGCSA Excellence Award recipients:

2018  John Spraggs - Royal Wellington Golf Club

2016  Andy Wood - Kauri Cliffs

2013  Blair Dibley - Millbrook Resort

2012  Rob Dunkley - Ngaruawahia Golf Club

2010  Brendan Allen - Royal Auckland Golf Club

2007  Leo Barber - Paraparaumu Beach Golf Club

2005  Grant Bunting - Wanaka Golf Club

2002  Andrew Ellis - Waihi Golf Club

2000  Paul Stanaway - Mangawhai Golf Club

1998  Brett Burgess - Western Bay Golf Club

1996  Karl Johnson - Lincoln Golf Club

1994  John Farron - Paraparaumu Beach Golf Club

1992  Peter Gray - Lincoln Golf Club