NZGCSA Graduate of the Year

Supported by Power Turf

The NZGCSA Graduate of the Year Award with the support of PowerTurf and Jacobsen is an annual award that recognises the top graduating trainee in the country, someone that demonstrates and performs to a high standard throughout their apprenticeship period.

Selection of Candidates:

·     The candidates will be determined by assessment results from theory studies and block-course performance in consultation with the Primary ITO.

·     Candidates will be near completing or have finished their training to be eligible for the award


Award Prize:

·     The winning prize will be determined on a year by year basis but will involve a overseas experience in relation to golf course turf management.


 Award Examination:

·     This will be carried out over a one day period involving both theory and practical challenges.

·     Candidates will be notified upon what type of criteria will make up the examination.


Past winners of NZGCSA Graduate of the Year:

2016   Mark Mills - Hastings Golf Club

2015   Scott Dunkerley - Karori Golf Club

2013  Tony Wood - North Shore Golf Club

2011  Owen Williams - Waitemata Golf Club

2009  Wendy Horneman - Pakaranga Country Club

2007  James O'Malley - Millbrook Resort

2005  Ben Sheriff - Poverty Bay Golf Club

2004  Dane Hawker - Kerikeri Golf Club

2002  Glen Findlayson - Fielding Golf Club

2001  Blair Dibley - Royal Auckland Golf Club

2000  Brendan O'Hara - Manawatu Golf Club

1998  Greg Swafford - Inglewood Golf Club

1997  Jason Hunter - Remuera Golf Club

1996  Greg Hogan - Manawatu Golf Club