NZGCSA Distinguished Service


The NZGCSA Distinguished Service Award is a bi annual award that seeks to recognise an individual who has given outstanding service to the golf turf industry within New Zealand.


  • Any person that works in or has recently worked in the Golf Turf Industry with the exception of those employed by Trade Company's supplying goods to the industry.

  • This award is presented in recognition of outstanding service to the Golf Turf Industry within New Zealand.

  • The Award is to be presented by-annually at the NZGCSA National Conference


  • The New Zealand Golf Course Superintendents Association will call on regions for nominations for the award prior to the National Conference.

  • Nominations need to be sent to the NZGCSA administration Officer -email:

  • Nominations need to be presented with supporting documentation and a background summary.


  • The NZGCSA Executive Committee will carry out judging of the Award and any decisions that they make will be final.

  • No correspondence shall be entered into regarding the final decision.


  • The Presentation of the Award shall be held at the NZGCSA National Conference dinner.

  • The winner of the Award shall receive travel, accommodation and meals to the NZGCSA National Conference.

Past NZGCSA Distinguished Service Award Recipients:

2019 Barry Shannon

2013  Brett Burgess (Deceased)

2011  David Ormsby

2009  Ces Morrell (Deceased)

2007  Lane Young

2005  Gordon Combe

2003  Bruce Wakefield

2001  Brian Hinton