NZGCSA Graduate of the Year - Supported by Power Turf

The NZGCSA Graduate of the Year Award supported by PowerTurf and Jacobsen is an annual award that recognises the top graduating trainee in the country, someone that demonstrates and performs to a high standard throughout their apprenticeship period. The below outlines the running of the competition.

Selection of Candidates:

  • The candidates will be determined by results from Industry Excellence Award Exam.

  • Candidates will be near completing or have finished their training to be eligible for the award

Award Prize:

  • The winning prize will be determined on a year by year basis but will involve a overseas experience in relation to golf course turf management.

GOY finals Day:

  • The competition on the day is made up of marks carried across from the Industry Exam results, along with practical components of golf course turf management that the judging panel feel that the finalists would be likely to encounter in the next steps of their turf management careers.

Past winners of NZGCSA Graduate of the Year:

2018 Stefano Godinich - Whitford Park

2016 Mark Mills - Hastings Golf Club

2015 Scott Dunkerley - Karori Golf Club

2013 Tony Wood - North Shore Golf Club

2011 Owen Williams - Waitemata Golf Club

2009 Wendy Horneman - Pakaranga Country Club

2007 James O'Malley - Millbrook Resort

2005 Ben Sheriff - Poverty Bay Golf Club

2004 Dane Hawker - Kerikeri Golf Club

2002 Glen Findlayson - Fielding Golf Club

2001 Blair Dibley - Royal Auckland Golf Club

2000 Brendan O'Hara - Manawatu Golf Club

1998 Greg Swafford - Inglewood Golf Club

1997 Jason Hunter - Remuera Golf Club

1996 Greg Hogan - Manawatu Golf Club